Convention of the States

Convention of the States

What is it?

Article V of the U.S. Constitution gives states the power to call a Convention of States to propose amendments. It takes 34 states to call the convention and 38 to ratify any amendments that are proposed. Our convention would only allow the states to discuss amendments that, “limit the power and jurisdiction of the federal government, impose fiscal restraints, and place term limits on federal officials.”

Our legislation calls for a Convention of States “limited to proposing amendments to the Constitution of the United States that impose fiscal restraints on the federal government, limit the power and jurisdiction of the federal government, and limit the terms of office for its officials and for members of Congress.”

Is it safe?

Article V includes numerous safeguards that protect the U.S. Constitution and ensure that only widely approved amendments are adopted. The strongest safeguard? Any amendment proposed by the Convention goes through the exact same ratification process as amendments proposed by Congress. It must be approved by 38 states. That means if only 13 states vote no, the answer is no. It doesn’t get much safer than that!

Le’s make it happen

Fifteen states have already passed the Convention of States resolution, calling for a convention of the states to propose constitutional amendments that will limit federal spending, limit federal power, and set term limits for federal officials. We need 34 states to get to convention-including Kansas!

Five years ago when I returned to the legislature, and every year since, I have supported the Convention of the States proposal in the Kansas House of Representatives. I believe that it is time to reign in an out of control federal government.
But to do this in the next legislative session I need your help.

The only way that will happen is if enough of the Representatives and Senators hear from YOU, their constituents. Please take a moment right now to call your Representative and Senator and ask for their commitment to co-sponsor and vote for Convention of States this year.